Sneak Peek at The Indigo Files

The plan is to begin publishing The Indigo Files series sometime in the Fall of 2018 after there are three books written in the series, and after I have completed The Chronicles of Mara Lantern.

However, I have Entangled (The Indigo Files, Book 1) written and didn’t want to let it sit around for a year without anyone reading it. So, I’m making it available to my email subscribers for free to hold them over while I finish up the adventures of Mara, Sam and Ping.

If you already subscribe to my new release list, you should have received an email with a link to download the book. If you missed the email, or you haven’t subscribed, you can subscribe here and download the book. (Existing subscribers can enter their address without worrying about getting duplicate emails from me. My list service eliminates duplicates automatically.)

Here’s the plot description of the book:

An action-adventure blend of X-Files and Warehouse 13—with psychics.

The Indigo Division of The Knowledge Reserve—a clandestine agency dedicated to keeping dangerous scientific research and information from becoming public—recruits former Secret Service agent Benjamin Delano.

In his first assignment, a homeless clairvoyant man helps Delano learn why a group of rogue Indigos—people with psychic abilities—is trying to kill the president and infiltrate the government.

Hope you enjoy the new book (and series).

What’s taking so long with Book 6?

For those of you still hanging in there waiting for the rest of the Mara Lantern series, I’d like to say thanks. I know there’s been a huge delay in getting the last two books out. If all goes to plan, Broken Spells (Book 6) should be out around Feb. 1, and Broken Talisman (Book 7) will be out around June 1. Assuming things keep going in the right direction.

So, what has taken so long?

In July of 2016, shortly after Broken Dreams was published, I came down with diffuse Scleroderma, which is a chronic auto-immune disease that causes thickening of the skin and connective tissues. In my case, this has happened over my entire body except for my head and face, making it difficult to walk, sit at a desk or type. (The best description I read compared it to being mummified alive.)

Anyway, I’ll spare you the gory details, but after several months of freaking out, a few more months trying to learn to use dictation software, and purchasing a small laptop with a flat keyboard, I’ve worked up a system for writing that works for me.

I recently completed the first novel in a new series, which I had started before getting ill, (I’ll post about that later) and I finished the Bonus Chapters for Broken Realms.

In the last few weeks, it feels like the Scleroderma has been letting up a bit, which, considering the alternatives, is great news. While it’s unlikely the damage it has done to my hands and legs will reverse itself, if it stalls out at this point, I can work around the limitations.

I’m keeping my crooked fingers crossed and counting my blessings.

Bonus Chapters for Broken Realms

To get my head back in the world of The Chronicles of Mara Lantern, and as an inducement for people to sign up for my email list, I’ve written some Bonus Chapters for Broken Realms.

It’s the story of when Sam and Ping met after the crash of the airliner in Chapter 2. Surprisingly, they don’t really show up until Chapter 12. For most of you, it’s been a long time since you’ve read the book. To give you context, you might want to read Chapter 2 before jumping into the Bonus Chapters.

I’m sending the download to my existing email subscribers, so they don’t need to resubscribe. However, if you’ve never joined the list, you can do so here. You can also find the link in the sidebar on this page.

The link takes you to a great service called Book Funnel. They will walk you through downloading the ebook file onto whatever device you have. They’ll even provide technical support if you need it.

Hope you enjoy the story.

Broken Dreams now on sale at Amazon

The folks over at Amazon approved and published Broken Dreams (The Chronicles of Mara Lantern, Book 5) more quickly than expected. Therefore, you are free to download at will (for $3.99). Here’s the link to the book’s page at Amazon, or you can click the cover image below. Thanks!


I haven’t scheduled the print version yet. To be honest, I’m debating whether to do one. The sales of print don’t cover the production costs. If you’d like me to continue producing a print version, drop me a line and I’ll reconsider.



Broken Dreams coming next week

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00006]

Here’s the cover of Broken Dreams (The Chronicles of Mara Lantern, Book 5). The kindle version should be available for download next week. I’ll post here when it’s available. Also, if you are subscribed to the New Release email list, you’ll get a notification in your inbox.


Broken Dreams gone to editor

Quick Update: Broken Dreams (The Chronicles of Mara Lantern, Book 5) went to the editor a couple of days ago. If there are no major glitches, it should be out before the end of the month. I’ll post when it’s available for download.
Also, if you want to get an email when new books are available, subscribe here.

Broken Pixels now on sale at Amazon

Broken Pixels - 3D
Broken Pixels (The Chronicles of Mara Lantern, Book 4) is now available for download at Amazon. The formatting and review of the print version is just about finished and should be available shortly. I hope everyone enjoys the book! Here’s the link to it at Amazon.


Broken Pixels Cover and Release Update

Broken-Pixels-350WHere’s a peek at the cover for Broken Pixels (The Chronicles of Mara Lantern, Book 4).

Unfortunately while finishing up my second draft, I discovered a major plot hole that had to be filled. That has required some significant rewrites, but most of that is done. However, the editor still needs a go at the book, so we’re running a couple of weeks late. I guess I jinxed myself with my earlier post promising its release in February. It looks like mid-March is more likely. Hang in there! It’s only a two-week delay.


Book 4 coming out in Feb.

I’m fairly certain I will be sending Broken Pixels (The Chronicles of Mara Lantern, Book 4) off to the editor about the third week of January. So that means if there are no major flaws, it will likely be published in February. The cover is being designed as we speak and as soon as that is done, I’ll post it for all to see.

This book is a little different from the first three in that it is set in an alternate realm instead of here in ours. It makes for a few challenges from the writer’s perspective since it involves a lot more world building that just having dragons attacking traffic on bridges in a modern American city.

In terms of the rest of the series, my plan is to complete books 5 (Broken Dreams), 6 (Broken Spells) and 7 (Broken Talisman) by the fall of 2016. After that, the plan is to work on an unrelated trilogy that’s been rattling around in my head for a couple of years.

If you want to be notified when new books come out, be sure to sign up to be notified by email here.


Broken Dragon now in print

Broken Dragon (The Chronicles of Mara Lantern, Book 3) is now available in paperback at Amazon for $11.99. Amazon sometimes randomly drops the prices on print books, so don’t be surprised if the price is different when you look. Sorry for the high price. I try to design the print books to limit the number of pages and I don’t distribute them to other stores in order to keep the price down, but it is what it is. I encourage all readers to get a Kindle — they go on sale frequently — and most authors actually make more on ebooks even though the prices are lower.

Here’s the link that takes you directly to the paperback’s page at Amazon.